HomePoliticsU.S. Department of State...

U.S. Department of State Recognizes U.S. Colleges and Universities as ‘Top Producers’ for Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarship

U.S. Department of State Recognizes U.S. Colleges and Universities as ‘Top Producers’ for Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarship

Today the U.S. Department of State recognized 13 colleges and universities that contributed the highest number of recipients of the Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarship for the 2021-2022 academic year, allowing American students with limited financial means to study or intern abroad.  An additional 18 institutions were recognized for having Gilman recipient students for the first time.

The Gilman Program is a key part of the Department’s dedication to increasing diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility among American students studying abroad to better reflect the population of the United States.  Nearly 550 U.S. higher education institutions sent more than 3,100 Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship recipients from 49 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico during the 2021-2022 academic year to study or intern abroad in over 100 locations around the world.

The “Gilman Top Producers” fall into four categories – small, medium, and large institutions, based on size of the student body, and associate’s colleges for two-year degrees. Large schools recognized include the University of South Florida (FL), University of California-Berkeley (CA), and University of California-Davis (CA). Medium institutions recognized include Emory University (GA), Western Kentucky University (KY), Syracuse University (NY), and the University of Notre Dame (IN). Small institutions include Mercer University (GA), Berea College (KY), and the University of Richmond (VA). Associate’s colleges recognized include Portland Community College (OR), MiraCosta College (CA), and Mesa Community College (AZ).

The Department also recognized 18 institutions in 16 states that supported a Gilman recipient for the first time, including five minority-serving institutions. They are Clovis Community College (CA), Colorado Mountain College (CO), Friends University (KS), Greenville University (IL), Indiana University-East (IN), La Sierra University (CA), LaGrange College (GA), Lincoln Memorial University (TN), Lindenwood University (MO), Monmouth University (NJ), Rockhurst University (MO), Seton Hill University (PA), Southeastern Louisiana University (LA), Southeastern Oklahoma State University (OK), Springfield College (MA), University of North Texas at Dallas (TX), Wartburg College (IA), and Wilkes University (PA).

Details on the higher education institutions that sent Gilman scholars overseas in 2021-2022 and more information on the program can be found at the Gilman Scholarship website .

Interested media should contact the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at [email protected].

Official news published at https://www.state.gov/u-s-department-of-state-recognizes-u-s-colleges-and-universities-as-top-producers-for-benjamin-a-gilman-scholarship/

Most Popular